1. K-State home
  2. »College of Health and Human Sciences
  3. »News
  4. »K-State faculty members earn promotion, tenure - College of Health and Human Sciences News

College of Health and Human Sciences

K-State faculty members earn promotion, tenure

Thursday, February 7, 2008

MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University is promoting 28 faculty members to the rank of full professor and 43 faculty members to the rank of associate professor with tenure. In addition, four faculty have been granted tenure. The promotions in rank and the granting of tenure have been approved by Jon Wefald, K-State president. They go into effect July 1.

Promoted to full professor are: Joseph Aistrup, political science; Kevin Blake, geography; William Blankenau, economics; Raju Dandu, engineering technology; Karen DeBres, geography; Torry Dickinson, women's studies; Steven Dritz, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology; Clive Fullagar, psychology; John Grable, family studies and human services; Linda Hoag, family studies and human services; David Hodgson, clinical sciences; Larry Hollis, animal sciences and industry; Rodney Jones, agricultural economics; Emizet Kisangani, political science; Stacy Kovar, accounting; Kyle Mankin, biological and agricultural engineering; Douglas McGregor, mechanical and nuclear engineering; Charles Moore, mathematics; Philip Nel, English; Jerome Nietfeld, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology; Wendy Ornelas, associate dean, College of Architecture, Planning and Design; Robert Peterman, civil engineering; Candice Shoemaker, horticulture, forestry and recreation resources; Paul Smith, chemistry; Greg Spaulding, engineering technology; Scott Staggenborg, agronomy; Diane Swanson, management; and Richard Zajac, arts, sciences and business.

Promoted to associate professor with tenure are: Sajid Alavi, grain science and industry; David Allen, elementary education; Torben Amtoft, computing and information sciences; Barbara Anderson, apparel, textiles and interior design; Lance Bachmeier, economics; Tara Baillargeon, library; Larry Bowne, architecture; LeAnn Brazeal, speech communication, theater and dance; Bonnie Bressers, journalism and mass communications; Liang-Wu Cai, mechanical and nuclear engineering; Mary Cain, psychology; Bongsug Chae, management; Delores Chambers, human nutrition; Michael Chilton, management; Kristan Corwin, physics; Elizabeth Davis, clinical sciences and anatomy and physiology; Erick DeWolf, plant pathology; Sunanda Dissanayake, civil engineering; Suzanne Dubnicka, statistics; Asad Esmaeily, civil engineering; Philip Gayle, economics; Jason Griffin, horticulture, forestry and recreation resources; Fred Guzek, arts, sciences and business; Derek Hillard, modern languages; Joann Kouba, animal sciences and industry; Kimberly Kramer, architectural engineering and construction science; Meena Kumari, anatomy and physiology; Brent Maner, history; John Paul Michaud, entomology; Nancy Morrow, art; Balasubramaniam Natarajan, electrical and computer engineering.

Promoted to associate professor with tenure, continued: David Ollington, speech communication, theater and dance; Yoonseong Park, entomology; Lorena Passarelli, biology; Mohan Ramaswamy, K-State Libraries; Thomas Schermerhorn, clinical sciences; Sheri Smith, landscape architecture and regional and community planning; Kimberly Staples, elementary education; Alysia Starkey, K-State Libraries-Salina; Jaebeom Suh, marketing; Daniel Thomson, clinical sciences; Craig Weston, music; and Ludek Zurek, entomology.

Granted tenure are: Chairat Chuwonganant, finance; Margaret Kaus, K-State Libraries; Teresa Miller, educational leadership; and Michelle Turvey-Welch, K-State Libraries.

Source: Melissa Linenberger, 785-532-4392, mwaso@k-state.edu
News release prepared by: Andy Badeker, 785-532-6415, abadeker@k-state.edu

This article was posted on Thursday, February 7, 2008, and is filed under Applied Human Sciences, Food, Nutrition, Dietetics and Health, Interior Design and Fashion Studies.