1. K-State home
  2. »College of Health and Human Sciences
  3. »News
  4. »Award winners, advisory board gather for Celebration of Excellence - College of Health and Human Sciences News

College of Health and Human Sciences

Award winners, advisory board gather for Celebration of Excellence

Thursday, October 23, 2014

The College of Human Ecology kicks off the annual Celebration of Excellence tonight by honoring six K-State alumni who have contributed significantly to their professions.

Human ecology alumni advisory board members and faculty hosts also will attend the dinner and awards presentation in Hoffman Lounge, Justin Hall.

On Friday, honorees will meet with students and faculty and will present class lecturers.

Board members will participate in the homecoming parade Friday evening after a day-long meeting with Dean John Buckwalter and other college leaders.

“The awardees epitomize the college mission as they contribute to the health and well-being of people in Kansas, in the nation and around the world,” Buckwalter said. “They are dedicated to their professions and they care about our students.”

Honorees are:
• Shawn Bloom, president and chief executive officer of the National PACE Association in Alexandria, Va., receives the Public Advocacy Award;
• Kali Buchanan, director of interior design with Hufft Projects in Kansas City, receives the college's Rising Professional Award;
• Jami Dunbar, senior director of product development and technical design at Under Armour in Baltimore, receives the Partner Award;
• John Ross Harmon, owner of John Ross & Co. Signature Catering in Garden City, receives the Entrepreneur Award.
• Dennis Hulsing, president and CEO of Hulsing Enterprises LLC in Asheville, N. C., receives the Friend of the College Award;
• Mary Montgomery-Shatz, director of operations at LongHorn Steakhouse for Darden Concepts in Kansas City, receives the Executive Leadership Award.

Marc Shaffer, Olathe, is president of the alumni board. Diane Parks, Vail, Co., is president-elect and Catherine Metzgar, Mound City, Mo., serves as secretary.

Other board members are Kelsey Flickner Vinopal, Wichita; Courtney Lair Gonzalez, Stamford, Ct.; Janice Hamilton, New York City; Nicholas Leckey, Lake Quivira; Mary Frances Nettles, Hattiesburg, Ms.; Laura Romig, Houston; Nancy Scally, Colorado Springs; Ruth Stemler, Longmont, Co.; Josh Umbehr, Wichita; Margaret Weller, Overland Park; Jan Wissman, Manhattan; Mary Ice, former president, Westlake, Tx.; Hillary L’Ecuyer, Merriam; Rutherford Sanford IV, Houston; Ken Fox, Devon, United Kingdom; Lynette Fraga, Alexandria, Va.; Cheryl Johnson, Topeka; Angela Hasemann, Charlottesville, Va.; Pat Keating, Manhattan; Julie Martin, Overland Park; Dora Rivas, Dallas; and Jonathan Swinton, Salt Lake City.

This article was posted on Thursday, October 23, 2014, and is filed under Center on Aging, College News, Hospitality Management, Interior Design and Fashion Studies.