1. K-State home
  2. »College of Health and Human Sciences
  3. »News
  4. »Annual Department of Kinesiology scholarship banquet recognizes outstanding students - College of Health and Human Sciences News

College of Health and Human Sciences

Annual Department of Kinesiology scholarship banquet recognizes outstanding students

Friday, April 27, 2018

The Department of Kinesiology hosted their annual scholarship banquet this past week, recognizing 21 undergraduate students. This is the largest number of scholarships the department has ever awarded which is credited to an increase in private fundraising. “We had an extremely competitive applicant pool for our scholarships this year, as we have many deserving students in our department”, said Craig Harms, department head. “Those that received awards certainly earned them and we’re proud of them”.

Below is a list of the scholarship recipients:

Kinesiology Faculty – Ice Family Scholarship: Mackenzie Getz, junior, Spring Hill

Katherine Horridge Smith Scholarship: Hanna Bott, junior, Palmer

Pauline Compton Scholarship: Emi Hayashi, junior, Andover

Mary Lois Rynders Sykes Scholarship: Allison Bullinger, junior, Colwich and Brooke Bennett, junior, Shawnee

Dr. Kenneth Mosely Scholarship: Katie Kralicek, junior, Overland Park

Larry Noble Scholarship Fund: Kiana Schulze, junior, Shawnee

Ito Family Scholarship: Reilly Killeen, junior, Honolulu, HI

Barbara Moses Scholarship: Rachel Haskell, junior, Prairie Village

Eva Lyman Scholarship: Jordyn Tuck, sophomore, Erie

American Kinesiology Association Scholar: Kelli Stallbaumer, senior, Sabetha

Kinesiology Achievement Scholarship: Alec Butenas, senior, Stillwell

The following students received the Kinesiology Excellence Scholarship: Alexandra Aye, junior, Louisburg; Macy Mock, junior, Dodge City; Vanessa- Rose Turpin, senior, Leavenworth; Courtney Moore, junior, Haddam; Mary Morrissey, junior, Topeka; Jena Winkler, sophomore, Wetmore; Paige Salts, junior, Overland Park; Justin McCartney, junior, Salina; Theresa Koch, sophomore, Baileyville; and Shayna Karmann, junior, Yates Center.

Seven graduate level students were also recognized during the event. Below are the list of recognitions.

Graduate Teaching Assistant of the Year- Jesse Stein

Outstanding Graduate Doctoral Student- Jacob Caldwell

Outstanding Graduate Master’s Student- Katelyn Gilmore and Dryden Baumfalk

American Kinesiology Association Scholar- Jacob Caldwell and Korynne Rollins

This article was posted on Friday, April 27, 2018, and is filed under College News, Kinesiology.