Family and Community Services

Read what we are doing to promote diversity, inclusion, and social justice.

The collaborative, multi-institutional master's degree program in family and community services is a specialization in the Master's in Family Studies & Human Services (MFSHS) Program. This program draws on the expertise of graduate faculty and graduate courses from land-grant universities - Kansas State University, Michigan State University, University of Missouri, North Dakota State University, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Oklahoma State University, and South Dakota State University. Faculty at these institutions share knowledge and expertise in family and community services, delivering instruction over the Internet. All institutions are members of the Great Plains Interactive Distance Education Alliance and have a history of success in distance education.

Master's Degree Program Requirements

The graduate program consists of 36 credit hours, including 10 required courses equaling 30 credit hours and 6 elective hours. The courses are offered on a rotating basis, with all courses offered at least once every other year (i.e., fall, spring, and summer).

The six elective hours will consist of a required practicum/field study (1-3 credits), independent study (1-3 credits), or coursework. Practicum/field study and independent study project hours will be coordinated with the major professor.

Core courses offered within the program include ten courses (3 credit hours each):

  • Foundations and Principles of Family and Community Services
  • Family Resource Management
  • Family Dynamics
  • Lifespan Development
  • Interpersonal Relationships
  • Resilience in Families
  • Program Administration and Management
  • Program Design, Evaluation, and Implementation
  • Parenting Education
  • Crises Across the Lifespan

See Course Schedule and Descriptions

Also see GPIDEA Student Success Center.