1. K-State home
  2. »College of Health and Human Sciences
  3. »Alumni
  4. »Awards
  5. »Alumni Fellows Award
  6. »2014

College of Health
and Human Sciences

Kansas State University
119 Justin Hall
1324 Lovers Lane
Manhattan, KS 66506-1401

785-532-5504 fax

Alumni Fellows Award

2014 Recipient: Kenneth R. Fox

Video Presentation: Motivational psychology and its importance in the promotion of physical activity for public health

Video Interview: Dr. Kenneth R. Fox

Ken FoxKen Fox, emeritus professor of exercise and health sciences at the University of Bristol, has been chosen as the College of Human Ecology's alumni fellow for 2014.

Fox, who earned a master's degree in exercise science from Kansas State University in 1981, has dedicated his career to research, teaching and policy development in physical activity and health. His interests have included fitness education, obesity, mental health and activity in later life.

He has been adviser for several UK government projects and was the senior scientific editor of the Chief Medical Officer's first report on physical activity and public health. He has produced more than 300 academic papers.

"My degree from K-State gave me the critical academic foundation for my research," Fox said.

Fox is a Fellow of the UK Faculty of Public Health, the British Association of Sport and Exercise Sciences, the UK Physical Education Association and an International Fellow of the American Academy of Kinesiology and Physical Education for his contributions to the field. In 2008, he received an honorary doctorate from the University of Coimbra in Portugal.

He and his wife Linda have two grown sons. Fox says he "still tries to play 5-a-side football and enjoys cycling, and occasionally plays drums with a modern jazz group."

Past Recipients

  • 2019: Cheryl Johnson
  • 2018: Lawrence Ganong
  • 2017: Tamara Markham
  • 2016: Jo Kimbell
  • 2015: Lee Wilbur
  • 2014: Kenneth R. Fox
  • 2013: Elizabeth Purcell-Keith
  • 2012: Rebecca Pirkl Hurd
  • 2011: Husam U. Kakish
  • 2010: Petros A. Levis
  • 2009: Carolyn W. Jackson
  • 2008: Linda Lee
  • 2007: Sandra Stith
  • 2006: Mary Montgomery-Shatz
  • 2005: Elizabeth Pivonka
  • 2004: Wesley Jones
  • 2003: Mary Ellen Vernon
  • 2002: Sherry Maxwell
  • 2001: Vickie James
  • 2000: Nancy McRoberts
  • 1999: Kent Bradley
  • 1998: Lana J. Irish
  • 1997: Stephen Anderson
  • 1996: Sonja Lee Connor
  • 1995: Virginia Lee Gunn
  • 1994: Ann Melvin
  • 1993: Linda Leeper
  • 1992: Irene Kathy Lee
  • 1991: Harriet E. Cloud
  • 1990: Barbara Ann Rainey
  • 1989: Janice M. Hamilton
  • 1988: Beverly Schmalzried
  • 1987: Allison Jensen
  • 1986: Nancy Fogg-Johnson
  • 1985: Jo Heinz