Distinguished Scholarly Achievement Award

The Distinguished Scholarly Achievements Award recognizes a Health and Human Sciences graduate's significant contributions to humanity and his or her profession through research, scholarly and creative activities, and/or discovery (RSCAD). To be considered for this award, the recipient must have demonstrated significant achievements in RSCAD in his or her chosen area. Recipients also make contributions to professional organizations and/or related professions and have demonstrated support of K-State and the College of Health and Human Sciences.

2021 Recipient:

Danielle Carlin

Danielle CarlinDanielle Carlin, Ph.D., D.A.B.T., is a Program Administrator with the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) Superfund Research Program (SRP). Her position consists of providing guidance and advice to grantees applying for SRP P42 Center grants and serving as the lead liaison between SRP trainees and the various training opportunities offered by SRP. She also oversees the general NIEHS grant portfolios for xenobiotic metabolism, inhalation toxicology, and chemical mixtures/combined exposures grant portfolios (e.g., R01s).

Prior to her current position, she was a post-doctoral researcher for four years at the University of North Carolina: two years within the Eshelman School of Pharmacy, Division of Molecular Pharmaceutics, studying aerosolized drugs/vaccines for treatment and prevention of tuberculosis; and two years within the Curriculum in Toxicology conducting her research at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, in Research Triangle Park, N.C., where she studied the toxicological effects of exposure to Libby amphibole asbestos in the rat model. Her areas of expertise include cardiopulmonary/reproductive physiology and inhalation toxicology/pharmacology.

She received her Ph.D. in 2005 from Kansas State University, College of Veterinary Medicine, Department of Anatomy and Physiology. She also has a B.S. and M.S. in animal science from New Mexico State University.

Past Recipients

  • 2007: Mary Gregoire
  • 2006: Patricia Kendall
  • 2005: Mary Littrell
  • 2004: Bahram Arjmandi
  • 2003: Sandria Godwin
  • 2003: Patricia Crews
  • 2002: Esther Myers

Unable to locate unitaddress.inc